Asia Cup 2023 follows hybrid model, matches to be played in Sri Lanka and Pakistan

ACC accepts the hybrid model, the Asia Cup 2023 will now be played in Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

The 2023 edition of the Asia Cup is scheduled to take place from 31st August to 17th September. The tournament will be played in a hybrid model.

The teams that are participating in the tournament are India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and Nepal will play a total of 13 ODI matches at the Asia Cup.
The tournament will be held in a hybrid format, with four matches scheduled to take place in Pakistan, while the remaining nine matches will be played in Sri Lanka.
The 2023 Edition will feature two groups, with two teams from each group qualifying for the Super Four stage. The top two teams from the Super Four stage will then face off in the final,” the Asian Cricket Council said in a statement.

Board of Control for Cricket in India Secretary Jay Shah confirmed that India and Pakistan are in the same group for ODI Asia Cup 2023.

Group 1 –

  • India
  • Pakistan
  • Nepal

Group 2 –

  • Sri Lanka
  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh

Schedule –

August, 31Sri Lanka vs AfghanistanPakistan
Sept, 1Pakistan vs NepalPakistan
Sept, 2Bangladesh vs AfghanistanPakistan
Sept, 3Sri Lanka vs BangladeshPakistan
Sept, 6India vs PakistanSri Lanka
Sept, 7India vs NepalSri Lanka
Sept, 9Super Four, Match 1 (B1 v B2)Sri Lanka
Sept, 10Super Four, Match 2 (A1 v A2)Sri Lanka
Sept, 11Super Four, Match 3 (A1 v B1)Sri Lanka
Sept, 13Super Four, Match 4 (A2 v B2)Sri Lanka
Sept, 14Super Four, Match 5 (A1 v B2)Sri Lanka
Sept, 15Super Four, Match 6 (B1 v A2)Sri Lanka
Sept, 17TBC vs TBC, FinalSri Lanka

Most Title Wins in Asia Cup

WinnerNumber of TitlesWinning Year
India71984, 1988, 1990–91, 1995, 2010, 2016 & 2018
Sri Lanka61986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, 2022
Pakistan22000 & 2012

Team India is the most successful team in the Asia Cup, having lifted the cup seven times. Sri Lanka comes in second place after winning the prized trophy five times, while Pakistan has also won Asia Cup twice.

Leave a comment